Live Long and Prosper

I found out recently that Leonard Nimoy has and uses Twitter. As he is one of my heroes, this pretty much made my life. For about as long as I can remember, I’ve watched him through various Star Trek films. His most recent, of course, being the newest Trek film. There was something very thrilling to me to hear such a beloved science fiction actor say…

Space…the final frontier…

For me, science fiction has been how I’ve been able to expand the frontiers of my mind. Through shows like Star Trek, Battlestar Galactica, and SG-1 among others, I’ve been able to consider new ideas. The concepts of life on other planets, or even people who are more than simply human are made real through clever storytellers like Chris Carter and Gene Roddenberry. They make these perhaps scary ideas more like modern day fairytales to wide eyed girls like me. I love the idea of being able to solve mysteries and explore alongside my favorite heroes. Sometimes, we even save the world.

As my life has been changing a lot lately, it occurred to me that science fiction has been a reassuring constant. I still can watch one of my favorite films or shows and feel like I can escape for a while. I used to try and do that with food or other occasionally more drastic measures. Maybe it’s ok for me to find my escape somewhere fat and hazard free.

Now, all I need is to get cable again and we’ll be set.

Leave a Reply

